EMS20121028'One night I dreamed I had made a pact with the devil; he was my servant and anticipated my every wish. I had the idea of giving him my violin to see if he might play me some pretty tunes...'. Lucie Skeaping explores the life and works of Giuseppe Tartini, one of the great violin virtuosos of the 18th century and composer of one of its most celebrated and demonic instrumental works, yet also of some of its sweetest melodies.

Tartini: Violin Concerto in G minor, Op. 1 No. 1 (1st movt)

Elizabeth Wallfisch (violin)

Raglan Baroque Players / Nicholas Kraemer (conductor)

Tartini: 'La Sonata del Diavolo' in G minor for violin and basso continuo (excerpt)

Andrew Manze (violin)

Tartini: Violin Concerto in A major, D96 (2nd movt)

Giuliano Carmignola (violin)

Venice Baroque Orchestra / Andrea Marcon (director)

Tartini: Sonata in G minor for violin and basso continuo, Op. 1 No 10 'Didone abbandonata'

Palladian Ensemble

Tartini: Violin Concerto in B flat major, Op. 1 No. 12

Tartini: Stabat mater

Isabelle Poulenard and Isabelle Desrochers (soprano)

Martín Oro (countertenor)

Stradivaria / Daniel Cuillier (director).