Live From St Asaph Cathedral


01Radio 3 Live In Concert20130924Live from the North Wales International Music Festival at St. Asaph Cathedral.

Peter Donohoe performs a programme of piano works all published as the composers' "Opus 1".

Tchaikovsky: Two pieces for piano, Op.1

Prokofiev: - Sonata No.1 in F minor, Op.1

Bartok: Rhapsody, Op.1

8.10 Interval

Berg: Sonata , Op.1

Schumann: Abegg Variations,Op.1

Brahms: Sonata No.1 in C major, Op.1

The tiny cathedral city of St. Asaph is home to the North Wales International Music Festival and venue for this evening's live piano recital from Peter Donohoe. All the works in his intriguing programme are linked by their appellation 'Opus 1'. As Peter himself points out, these pieces don't represent the composers' very earliest efforts but their first published music; their first forays into the professional world of composition.

Peter invites us to explore with him music that reveals the ambition and freshness of composers at the beginnings of their long and distinguished careers; full of youthful originality and containing fascinating hints of the mature artists they would become.

02 LASTRadio 3 Live In Concert20130924